Posted by: jevcat | March 28, 2010

Palm Sunday

So here I am, struggling through the home stretch of Lent:  Holy Week.  And I’m not ready for it to be Lent, much less Palm Sunday. 

This has been one of those years when I just never got myself together for Lent:  discipline never really happened, prayer was spotty, the taxes still are not ready to be done, I won’t have the money to shop for Easter until the end of the week – which means that time will be more hectic than reflective, too.

In spite of a resolution early on to be intentional during Lent, to focus on each thing in turn, such concentration has been sporadic and, indeed, the long Palm Sunday Gospel and shorter sermon that followed found my mind flitting between the task at hand and those round the bend, like a child hopping from one foot to another:

Garden of Gethsemane – temp work tomorrow, visit elderly friend later today – betrayal – send out job applications – Peter’s denial – need to get tax stuff together really – Herod and Pilate are now friends – when can I do the shopping? – we’ve gotten to Golgotha, time to stand up – when can I fit in cleaning? – Jesus dies, kneel – can I hold out until the IRA rolls over Wednesday before withdrawing again for money to live on? (don’t think of how little will be left) – Joseph of Arimathaea is here – need to find time to write – sermon’s starting, sit down – how many will we be for Easter this year? …

 and somewhere during the sermon, it hit me:  Easter happens anyway.  Whatever else is going on, whatever gets done or doesn’t get done, Easter will happen again.  It always happens, it is always happening.  Just like Christmas.  Easter’s coming does not depend on me – thank God or it would probably still be on my “To Do” list and recycling with the other anxieties – and I’m calmer now.  For the moment.  But, for the moment, I’m in the moment, fully present to it, and that’s enough. 

 Hosanna!  Blessed is he who comes in the Name of the Lord!

Leave a Reply

Categories

