Posted by: jevcat | April 28, 2010

The Good Shepherd (with Cats)

Having missed church this weekend, I had not realized it was “Good Shepherd Sunday” but, having discovered this, I thought I would post a re-thinking of the Gospel material I had sent to my brother and a few friends several years ago: 

It’s probably the fever this weekend — or some other form of insanity — but it occurs to me that we don’t relate to the Good Shepherd stuff in the Gospels so much because we’re all urban apartment-dwellers nowadays whose contact with sheep, alas, tends to be in the form of the occasional leg of lamb or chop.  But if we were talking cats …

“So he told them this parable:  “Which one of you, having four cats and losing one of them, does not leave the three in the apartment and go after the one that is lost until she finds it?  When she has found it, she cuddles it and rejoices.  And when she comes home, she calls together her friends and neighbors, saying to them, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found my cat that was lost.’  Just so, I tell you, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over whole groups of righteous persons who need no repentance.”  Luke 15:3-7)

or how about:

“Very truly, I tell you, anyone who does not enter the apartment by the door but climbs in by the window or fire escape is a thief and a bandit.  The one who enters by the door is the owner of the apartment and the cats.  The owner puts out the food for the cats and the cats hear her voice.  She calls her own cats by name and puts food in their dish … and the cats come [if they are in the mood — okay, the analogy isn’t perfect] because they know her voice.  They will hide under the bed from a stranger because they do not know his voice.”  Jesus used this figure of speech with them, but they did not understand what he was saying to them …

“I am the good cat owner.  The good cat owner lays down her life for the cats.  The paid cat-sitter, who does not own the cats, forgets to close the door tight — and the cats get out and are scattered.  The paid cat-sitter runs away because a cat sitter does not care for the cats.  I am the good cat owner, I know my cats and my cats know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father.  And I lay down my life for the cats.  I have other cats that do not belong to this group.  I must bring them also, and they will listen to my voice.  So there will be one family of cats, and one cat owner.”  (John 10:1-6, 11-16)

P.S.  Let me know when you call the men in the white coats with their butterfly nets so I can try to appear normal when they arrive.

Responses

  1. This is awesome ! I do yes certainly know a lot more people who would relate to this than the stuff about sheep… great analogies, useful and fresh!

    The other day, I was asking my younger son about his reading so far in Genesis, and I totally got his attention when I asked about when Satan comes and says, “Let’s have pie.”

  2. Yep, I could feel it coming. You have gone off the deep end and likely taking your beloved cats with you.

  3. You made me laugh out loud. An my cat just sat on my foot, which is way better than a sheep sitting on your foot!

  4. Girlfriend! Your own brother is my paid cat sitter. He has never been less than 100% responsible about the job. The cats know and love him (okay; suck up to him) because he feeds them and scoops their poops when I’m not here to do it. You’d better rethink your sermon…and remember that I celebrate “last chance Mass” at 5:00 PM.
    I hope you’re feeling better!


Leave a Reply

Categories

