Posted by: jevcat | April 20, 2011

Pregnant With Easter

22We know that the whole creation has been groaning in labor pains until now; 23and not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the first fruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly while we wait for adoption, the redemption of our bodies. 24For in hope we were saved. Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what is seen? 25But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.

− Romans 8:22-24 (NRSV)

I have never had children, but I’ve watched and listened to my friends.  I think without exception they agree that pregnancy is at least one month too long.  In a way, that’s sort of how I’m feeling right now about Lent, now in its sixth and final week – at least one too many.

Since Ash Wednesday, this thing, Lent, has been growing in me, this seed of what will be Risen life.  The rush of desire and good intentions that started then have faded (if not vanished entirely), and I’m left slogging through, ungainly shape, swollen ankles, sciatica, heartburn, and all (as it were).  There are still preparations to be made, but it’s hard to see how all will get done, everything seems to take longer than it should, and what do I really know about the joy to come except that it will be hard work getting there and it will HURT.  I’m tired.  I just want to put my feet up and rest.  Can’t we just skip that difficult part and cut to the good stuff?

I’m not alone in this, I know:  Can’t the cup just pass me by?  Just this once?  We’ve had Palm Sunday:  hail, hosanna, and all that – sort of like the baby shower − can’t we just get the baby born, have done with it?

I know the answer.  It’s the same one Jesus – and every mother who has every lived – got.  And I know, too, that the joys of birth, new life, Easter, are not the end; they are a new beginning, one that will include more hard work, if a different kind.  But I’ll still take the joy when it comes.  Meanwhile, I wait.

Responses

  1. Janet…
    this is reverent, hushed and holy…truly beautiful and this fragrant balm for my soul this night. It’s difficult to express “Easter” to those who don’t believe in a risen Savior, and who have not laid claim to the love He has for them through salvation…

    Janet…you have brought tears to my eyes…
    blessings
    jane

    • Then we’re even, Jane, as you’ve brought tears to mine.

  2. Take this cup in memory of me…Never hope it passes you by. Without its nourishment you die in heart and soul.

    • Thanks for the beautiful reminder, Carl.

  3. No, you are not alone in this. Thanks for expressing it so well, and reminding me that I’m not alone either.

    • Thanks, Francesca. We’re none of us alone, if only we can remember it.

  4. I hope you have a blessed and happy Easter.

    • Thanks, Mark, you too (and/or Passover).


Leave a Reply

Categories

