Posted by: jevcat | April 28, 2011

Easter Thursday

We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life. (Romans 6:4, NIV)

Well, it’s Easter Thursday, and here I stand, still just outside the tomb, blinking in the light, burial bands trailing, trying to believe in the resurrection – not His, mine.

No matter how bad they are, old things have a comforting familiarity.  We know what to expect and have developed ways of dealing with it.  I may not like my rut, but it’s mine.  Why is it so hard to see that new life is – or will be – mine, too?  But the road from the tomb won’t always be easy or straight, and I won’t always know if I’ve chosen the right path until I’ve gone down it quite a ways.  There are times I’ll have to trudge back – and it will probably be uphill.  Somehow it usually is.

But I can’t go back.  There’s nothing in the tomb any longer – it’s not even dark and still anymore, not now the stone’s been rolled away.  So I can keep standing here, wearing my burial clothes and pretending everything is normal – or at least manageable – or I can be on my way, now while it’s all still fresh in my mind, the Easter light shines bright, and it’s at least a bit easier to see the way.  It just needs taking that first step …

Found this wonderful image of a cave in Donegal on a blog: http://soarcoaching.wordpress.com/2011/01/04/soar-news-january-2011/

Responses

  1. I think the Resurrection my be more than an event. Every time a drug addict recovers and becomes a social worker, Jesus comes again. And again. And again. The Resurrection may be available to each of us as well as is in the example just presented. Clergy wants to hang me for this blasphemy, but it seems delightfully reasonable to me.

    • Carl, I don’t think that’s blasphemy. I think it’s the God’s honest truth, and part of the miracle.

  2. Oh. I’m there with you! Our own resurrections are the hardest ones in which to believe. When you let go of the old and have not yet claimed the new, it can feel as if you’re standing around with plenty of nothing. You’re right, though. We have to walk away and go where G-d is leading us, even if we haven’t got the foggiest idea where that might be. For me, these days, “one day at a time” is not the slogan. I’m using “one moment at a time.” I suspect you are, too. So, we conspire (sigh together!) SIGH.

    • You hit the nail on the head, Francesca — if that’s not a slightly blasphemous metaphor in the context!

  3. lovely…I love the image you give–Easter’s bright light leading the way…
    It is a choice, each day, isn’t it? To walk away from death and trust Jesus to lead us to new life…

    blessings, and beautiful, thought-provoking post (as always, dear one!)
    jane

    • I went looking for the right image, and that seemed to be the one — even better than the photo of my own I couldn’t find (maybe I wasn’t meant to). Still working on that trust thing, though …

  4. Just remember Robert Frost’s great poem, “The Road Not Taken.” I believe you just have to have faith in your choices, and while the path ahead may be difficult, in the end it’ll get you exactly where you need to be!

    • I know I’ll get to where I need to be, but will I like being there? Or the journey? That’s always my problem. I hope I’m making progress though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

