Posted by: jevcat | May 28, 2012

“I Love a Parade”

“I Love a Parade” goes the song – only I don’t, never have.  Except for one kind:  a parade of tall ships.

I don’t think it’s just the romance of a past laundered of all its unpleasantness.  I think it’s about grace and beauty of form and the idea of the wild freedom of moving without engine, just wind and water and sail when everything is right – even admitting the potential for terror when it isn’t.

I am blessed to have always li

Then there was the re-opening of the Statue of Liberty after restoration 27 years ago come July 4th – my first year on Staten Island.  I don’t know where my photos of that day are, but I still have a red t-shirt featuring Snoopy as the Statue of Liberty, and I still remember waking on the morning of the Fourth, looking out the window at a harbor so packed with boats that I thought it would be no miracle to walk across it.

This year is the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812, and while I have serious reservations about celebrating wars, I have none whatsoever about celebrating those glorious old sailing vessels that traveled to New York for the Op Sail that was part of this year’s Fleet Week, an annual Memorial Day ritual in New York.

So Wednesday morning I was up early to watch the ships forming up through the mist just past the Verrazano Narrows Bridge, caught a ferry that cruised beside them a while, and played temporary hooky for about 45 minutes to see them sail past Battery Park.  Saturday, my Beloved and I went to the old Staten Island homeport, near where we live, to see the ships anchored there “up close and personal,” including two of the tall ships, the Cisne Branco, from Brazil, and the KRI Dewaruci, an amazingly carved and painted ship from Indonesia (even though it was built in Hamburg, Germany – no surprise).  For the land-locked, I am including some of my photos to share the joy.

The Eagle, America’s tall ship, Coast Guard training vessel

The Roderick MacAllister — and okay, I know it’s not a tall ship, but I have a soft spot for tugs (see previous post: https://jevcat.wordpress.com/2012/03/18/tugging-at-the-heart/ )

Leave a Reply

Categories

